ASYLUM UPDATE (Reposted from the 10th of October 2008)


Asylum updates are my favorite time of the B Movie calendar. I got a little shock to see they’re slate for next year. Either they are cutting down on the mockbuster or I’m just out of touch with mainstream cinema. I kind of think the latter one might be the case. But first lets see what this year has in stall for us. Last month saw DEATH RACERS. When it comes to genera films I never think it’s a good idea to judge the film on it cinematic metric rather by the sheer entertainment value it provides. DEATH RACERS provided to be one the funnies movies I’ve seen all year. What it lacked in Racers it made up for in Death and satire. Its one of the better Asylum films every made. Hitting the shelves this month is a movie that’s both a Faith Film and a Mockbuster. Get ready for the SUNDAY SCHOOL MUSICAL. Some people say this movie will start the cinematic Armageddon but I’m just hoping for some toe taping tunes.

B MOVIE NEWS will have an exclusive interview with director Rachel Goldenberg (exclusive for the fact we probably are going to only people to ask her). They’re going to finish out the year with a show stopper… literally! December will bring THE DAY THE EARTH STOPPED. It will star not one but two 80’s brat packers: C. Thomas Howell (who also directs) and Judd Nelson (CYBER DOG). The new year will start with a mockbuster variation with the 18 YEAR OLD VIRGIN. With the influxes of dvd sequel I’m pretty sure they’re trying to disgust this as one. I can see the tag line already “Before he was 40 he was the…” Can you see too many teen sex comedies? I think not!

The most interesting films in the post production pile are:
MEGA SHARK VS GIANT SQUID
The California coast is terrorized by two enormous prehistoric sea creatures as they battle each other for supremacy of the ocean.

Finally, we’re going to get some answers. You can’t say you haven’t spent sleeping nights doing the math’s on this one. I’m putting my money on Giant Squid.

TRANSMORPHERS 2
In this present day prequel, the robot invaders attack Earth, forcing a small band of humans to seek refuge below the surface of the planet.

I known about the film for quite a while as, I try to get a job writing it. Having no idea about writing, pitching, spelling or Hollywood in general I just decided to write it then email it to David Latt. As my version was an “INVASION OF THE POD PEOPLE … umm I mean BODY SNATCHERS” type sequel and this is a prequel I don’t think they went with it. But it still can be used (hint, hint David Latt). You can read it here. I wrote it to be the most mocking’est buster every to bust a mock. If you think you’ve seen it in another film you have :p

Once again I’m sure these films are mocking into bigger Hollywood film that I’m just not aware of. The last two seem like to same film.

DRAGONQUEST
When an ancient warlord summons a mythological beast, a young hero must complete a series of quests to awaken the dragon that can defeat the monster.

SUPERNOVA
As increased radiation and ever large solar storms wreak havoc on the Earth, scientists realize that our sun is dying and will soon end in an explosion that will destroy the galaxy.

COUNTDOWN: ARMAGEDDON
After a series of catastrophic disasters, a destabilized society is pushed into a global war.

MEGAFAULT: A CRACK IN THE WORLD
A massive earthquake threatens to tear the world in half.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment